prof. Andrzej Rzepliński Honorary Citizen of Warsaw

Drukuj otwiera się w nowej karcie


Prof. Andrzej Rzepliński

Honorary Citizen of Warsaw since 10th June 2021

Born on 26 November 1949 in Ciechanów.  In 1971 graduated from the Faculty of Law of the University of Warsaw, and then became an articled clerk at the County Prosecutor’s Office in Garwolin. Obtained a PhD in Criminology in 1978 and a post-doctoral degree in 1990. Full Professor since 2000. 

His professional career was associated with the University of Warsaw, where he became the head of the Department of Criminology and Criminal Policy and the dean of the Faculty of Applied Social Sciences and Resocialisation. Until 1981 member of the Polish Communist Party, removed in the early days of the Martial Law. In the 1980s he participated in the work of the Citizens' Center for Legislative Initiatives of the Independent Self-Governing Trade Union “Solidarity” under which he created the drafts of the Criminal Enforcement Code and the Act on the National Council of the Judiciary. Author of the report on human rights violations in the Polish People’s Republic presented in 1983 at the Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe Conference. Former Member of the Helsinki Committee in Poland and later management secretary of the Helsinki Foundation for Human Rights and member of its Programme Council of the Precedent Matters Programme.
Formerly, expert of the Department of Human Rights Monitoring by the Secretary General of the Council of Europe, UN expert for crime prevention and expert of the Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights of the OSCE in Warsaw. On 18 December 2007 chosen by the 6th-term Sejm as a judge of the Constitutional Tribunal, and on 3 December 2010 became the Tribunal’s President.
Author of numerous publications in the field of constitutional human rights, the judiciary, criminology, the prison system, state crimes, death penalty, comparative criminal policy, police law, corruption and legal opinions submitted to parliamentary commissions, the Supreme Court, the European Court of Human Rights and the Constitutional Tribunal.

Awarded, i.a., the Knight’s Cross of the Order of Polonia Restituta, the Commander’s Cross of the Order of the Lithuanian Grand Duke Gediminas and the Pro Ecclesia et Pontifice Medal.